Design By Powered By

SAOG represents the Surface Science and Thin Films Community of Switzerland > Conference Program SAOG 2019

Conference Program SAOG 2019

January 31st, 2019


Registration starts at 8:30


K.-H. Ernst (conference chair)

Opening remarks

9:45 - 11:00 Session chair: K.-H. Ernst 


Ben Feringa (invited)

U Groningen, NL 

The art of building small: from molecular switches to molecular motors


A. Gutiérrez-González, H. Chadwick, F. Crim, R. D. Beck, 

Laboratoire de Chimie Physique Moléculaire, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland 

Bond-specific and surface site-selective dissociation of methane on platinum surfaces


T. Bartels-Rausch, L. Artiglia, X. Kong, A. Waldner, F. Orlando, M. Ammann

Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen PSI, Switzerland

Caught in the act: Interfacial acid base chemistry


11:00 Coffee/Tea break

11:30 - 12:35 Session chair: Nic Spencer


Katrin Domke, J. H. K. Pfisterer, N. M. Sabanés, L. Driessen        (invited)

MPI for Polymer Research, Electrochemical Surface Science, Mainz, Germany

Unravelling nanoscale chemistry at solid/liquid interfaces with EC-TERS  


A. Cahlik,1 J. Hellerstedt,M. Svec,V.M. Santhini,P. Mutombo,K. Vyborny,P. Jelinek,S. Pascal,O. Siri2

Institute of Physics, ASCR, v.v.i., Cukrovarnická 10, CZ-16253 Praha 6, Czech Republic 

Aix Marseille Université, CNRS, CINaM UMR 7325, 13288, Marseille, France 

Structure and electronic properties of end states of self-assembled 1D covalent molecular chains on Au(111) 


J. G. Vilhena,R. Pawlak,P. D’Astolfo,T. Meier,S.-X. Liu,S. Decurtins,J. A. Lemkul,G. Prampolini,A. Baratoff,R. Pérez,E. Meyer1

1 Department of Physics, University of Basel, Klingelbergstrasse 82, Basel, CH 4056 

2 Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Berne, Freiestrasse 3, Berne, CH 3012 

3 Department of Biochemistry, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA 24061

4 Instituto di Chimica dei Composti Organo Metallici (ICCOM-CNR), Area della Ricerca, Pisa, Italy 

5 – Dep. de Física Teórica de la Materia Condensada, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Madrid 

Single molecule nanotribology: understanding friction and adhesion at a single molecule level 

12:35- 14:10 Lunch break and poster session in the entrance hall

14:10 - 15:30 Session chair: Thomas Bürgi


Giovanni Dietler (invited)

Institute of Physics, EPFL,1015-Lausanne, Switzerland

Local probe microscopy for biological applications 


M. Baljozović,A. Mairena,M. Kawecki,L. Bernard,C. Wäckerlin,K.-H. Ernst,K. Grenader,A. Terfort,M. Wienke,K. Martin,N. Avarvari4

1 Empa, Dübendorf, Switzerland 

2 Goethe-University, Frankfurt, Germany 

3 University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany 

4 CNRS-Université d’Angers, Angers, France 

Diastereoselective Ullmann coupling of 9-bromoheptahelicene on Au(111) 


X. Wu, M. Mirolo, C. Villevieille, P. Novák, M. El Kazzi

Paul Scherrer Institute, Electrochemistry Laboratory, CH-5232 Villigen, PSI, Switzerland

Operando XPS for a direct monitoring of the chemical and electronic properties of the electrolyte-electrode interfaces in all-solid-state batteries


X. Bulliard, A. Grivel, G. Weder, R. Ischer, G. Voirin, R. Smadja, R. Pugin

CSEM SA, Jaquet-Droz 1, 2002 Neuchâtel, Switzerland 

Mesoporous hierarchical layer as a versatile coating for optical sensing 

15:30 - 16:00 COFFEE / TEA

16:00 - 16:55 Session chair: Heiko Wolf


D. Bleiner,R. Müller,G. Patzke,L. Rush,C. Menoni,J. Rocca3

Advanced Analytical Technologies, Empa, Dübendorf, Switzerland

2 University Zurich, Zürich, Switzerland

3 NSF Center for Extreme Ultraviolet Science & Technol., Colorado State University, Ft. Collins, USA

Depth profiling analysis at nano-scale using a tabletop X-ray-laser


Armin W. Knoll, C. Schwemmer, M. J. Skaug, S. Fringes, C. Rawlings, Y. K. Ryu, U. Duerig (invited)

IBM Research GmbH, Rüschlikon, Switzerland

Nanofluidic rocking brownian motors 


16:50 Charmey Poster Prize Ceremony - K.-H. Ernst 

16:55 Closing of the meeting - K.-H. Ernst